K-STEP Awards! - Jane Newman Pioneer Award

At K-STEP, we strive to recognize individuals and organizations in Kansas who help achieve equality, awareness, and education for transgender Kansans and their families.

The Pioneer Award is named for Jane Newman. Jane and her wife Helen are the true pioneers in Kansas when it comes to transgender education, awareness, and equality. Every step we take in the pursuit of the end of discrimination against transgender Kansans is unquestionably more possible because of the efforts of Jane and Helen.

2017 Recipient - Luc Bensimon

2016 Recipients - Topeka Transgender Alliance; Equality Kansas Metro Kansas City

2015 Recipients - Elle Boatman & Adam O'Brien

2014 Recipient - Sandra Meade

Inagural Award - August 24, 2012 - Jane Newman

Paula Keiser For the Kids Award

K-STEP Ally Award

K-STEP Awards - August 15, 2015

K-STEP Awards - April 12, 2014

K-STEP Awards - August 24, 2012

K-STEP Awards - April 17, 2011

K-STEP Home Page      Awards Page